Eire win Six Nations and first Grand Slam in Dublin | Rugby Information

The 29-16 win in opposition to England is Eire’s first Six Nations title since 2018 and fourth Grand Slam.

Eire have accomplished their fourth ever Six Nations Grand Slam with a 29-16 victory over England on the Aviva Stadium, emphatically underlining their standing because the world’s prime ranked Rugby Union workforce heading into September’s World Cup.

The Irish got here into the championship because the favorite and swept by it to make an enormous assertion six months out from the Rugby World Cup, the place they’ve by no means gained a knockout match.

A month after beating defending champions and second-ranked France at dwelling, Eire dealt with a sport however insufficient England and took most factors from a win and minimal 4 tries at a packed-out Lansdowne Street.

Andy Farrell’s aspect have been worthy of their clear sweep, having gained all of their video games by 13 factors or extra and ending France’s 14-game unbeaten run alongside the best way in top-of-the-line championship video games in current reminiscence.

Two tries from Dan Sheehan and one every from Robbie Henshaw and Rob Herring ensured Eire completed forward of France in second place and Scotland in third whereas a 3rd defeat for England left them in fourth place.

Captain Jonathan Sexton was given the proper send-off in his final Six Nations match with a second Grand Slam and the championship’s all-time point-scoring file. He limped off with six minutes to go to a standing ovation.

The 37-year-old moved on to 560 factors to surpass Ronan O’Gara, his predecessor as fly-half, in what’s his sixtieth and ultimate Six Nations Check. O’Gara performed 63.

O’Gara stays Eire’s general file factors scorer on 1,083 with Sexton on 1,050 factors earlier than the match in opposition to England kicked off.

Better of all for dwelling followers in the course of St Patrick’s Day weekend celebrations, it was the primary time Eire had sealed the Grand Slam in Dublin after doing it in Twickenham (2018), Cardiff (2009) and Belfast (1948).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here